All Lewis entries for Rathgormuck


More information on Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837)
Accompanying Lewis map for Waterford


RATHGORMUCK, or RATHCORMUCK, a parish, in the barony of UPPERTHIRD, county of WATERFORD, and province of MUNSTER, 3 miles (S. S. W.) from Carrick-on-Suir ; containing 2252 inhabitants. This parish, which takes its name from an ancient rath, is situated on the confines of the county of Tipperary, and contains a constabulary police station, It is a vicarage, in the diocese of Lismore, forming part of the union of Mothell ; the rectory is impropriate in the Duke of Devonshire, The tithes amount to £408. 7. 6. of which £241. 4. is payable to the impropriator, and £167. 3. 6. to the vicar, In the R. C. divisions it is part of the union of Mothell, or Rathgormuck, and contains a chapel. About 10 children are taught in a school supported by an annual donation from Lady Osborne ; and there are two private schools, in which are about 130 children.

Irish Times subscribers | | John Grenham | | Sitemap | | Login | | Subscribe | | Contact | | FAQs | | What's new?| | Privacy policy

Copyright © John Grenham 2021