All Lewis entries for Rathlynin


More information on Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837)
Accompanying Lewis map for Tipperary


RATHLYNAN, or RATHLINEY, a parish, in the barony of CLANWILLIAM, county of TIPPERARY, and province of MUNSTER, 3- miles (N. E. by E.) from Tipperary, on the road to Thurles ; containing 1354 inhabitants. It comprises 2657 statute acres of land, generally good and mostly in tillage. The river Multeen flows through the parish, within the limits of which are Lacken, tine residence of John Smithwick, Esq. ; and Mount William, of Jas. Mahon, Esq. At the cross of Donaskeigh is a station of the constabulary police. It is a rectory and vicarage, in the diocese of Cashel, forming part of the union of Ballintemple ; the tithes amount to £200.

Irish Times subscribers | | John Grenham | | Sitemap | | Login | | Subscribe | | Contact | | FAQs | | What's new?| | Privacy policy

Copyright © John Grenham 2021